Hub Mesh

From Hubitat Documentation
Jump to: navigation, search
Go to the top of the page

When two or more Hubitat Elevation hubs run on the same local network, you can seamlessly share and use devices in automations between multiple hubs with Hubitat Hub Mesh. Using a simple share and link setup, all participating Hubitat Elevation hubs are able to effortlessly control and stay in sync with local devices and mode changes.

Configuring Hubitat Hub Mesh

  1. From the Hubitat Web Interface select Devices and press the Hub Mesh button.
    • NOTE: Hub Mesh is available starting from hub platform version 2.2.4.x and is only compatible with other Hubitat Elevation hubs running 2.2.4.x or later.
      Select the Hub Mesh button at the top-right to setup device sharing and linking
  2. Using the Share local devices drop-down list, select the devices you want to share with other Hubitat Elevation hubs and press the Add to mesh button.
    From the device list just below top-left of the Hub Mesh page, select the devices you want to share with other hubs on your local network
  3. Devices that have been shared will appear in the Shared devices list. Selecting any of the device names in the list will take you directly to the settings page of that device.
    Devices that have been shared will appear in the Shared devices list just above lower-right of the Hub Mesh page
  4. On another hub where you would like to Link to devices shared in the Hub Mesh, select them from the Link to remote devices drop-down list and press the Create Devices button. If your shared devices do not show up in the remote devices list, refresh your browser.
    On another hub that you want to link to shared devices, select them from the drop-down menu at the top-right of the Hub Mesh page.
  5. Links from shared Hub Mesh devices will be created in the devices list of the hub linking to them. Multiple hubs can link to devices shared through Hub Mesh.
    • NOTE: Device Preferences and Information changes will update on linked device after 1 minute, but they cannot be changed from the linked device.
      Devices shared via Hub Mesh will be created in the devices list of the hub linking "too" them. The device name will be appended with the name of the hub they are linked "Frum"
    • Linked devices that have already been created will be grayed out in remote devices list.
      Linked devices that have already been created will be disabled in the drop-down menu labelled, "Link to remote devices"
  6. You may also add a single device to Hub Mesh by simply turning on the Hub Mesh Enabled option in the settings of the device you wish to share with other Hubitat Elevation hubs.
    • NOTE: To link to the shared device, you will use the Link to remote devices drop-down list on the hub where you want the linked device to be available as described above in Step 4.
      Turning on the switch labelled, "Hub Mesh enabled" in a device's settings will add that individual device to the list of shared Hub Mesh devices.
  7. To remove devices from Hub Mesh, select them from the Stop sharing local devices drop-down list and press the Remove from mesh button.
    Remove devices from Hub Mesh by selecting them from the "Stop sharing local devices drop-down list" just below top-right of the Hub Mesh page.
  8. Devices which were linked to other hubs will not be deleted when they are removed or unavailable to Hub Mesh, but will instead switch to a Disabled state. If you add them to the mesh again or the hub which was sharing them returns to Active status, the linked devices will be automatically re-enabled.
    • NOTE: If you no longer want a Hub Mesh Linked Device in your device list, it must be manually removed.
      If you no longer want a Hub Mesh shared device on your system, you need to delete it from your list of devices. A device will have "OFFLINE" appended to its name on the hub it was being shared "too", if it still exists in the device list, but the device is no longer being shared "frum" another hub.

Follow Modes

You can set Hub Mesh to follow Mode changes of other hubs by using the Follow Modes option.

  • IMPORTANT: If you have Mode Manager installed, you should uninstall it from hubs participating in Follow Modes. Using Mode Manager together with the Follow Modes feature could change a mode one way, and Mode Manger would change it another when trying to follow the other hub's mode. Possible conflicts, including a mismatch of defined modes on the participating hubs may result.
    You can set Hub Mesh to follow Mode changes of other hubs by using the Follow Modes drop-down menu found mid-left of the hub mesh page. For more information on modes, please visit the Location and Modes document found under User Guides from the main Hubbitat documents page

Using Hub Mesh with Hub Login Security

When Hub Login Security is enabled on the hub from where devices are shared, it is necessary to provide the linking hub with a security key. Failing to do this will result in linked devices that do not synchronize with the sharing hub.

  1. With Hub Login Security enabled, a lock icon will appear next to the Active local hubs list. This will show a warning when the security key from the sharing hub is not available to the linking hub.
    Active local hubs are listed at the top-left of the hub mesh page. If the hub's security key is not valid, a warning will be displayed in the form of an exclamation mark in a circle. The mark will be on the right side of the listed hub's IP address.
  2. Copy the security key from the sharing hub. If one has not been set or it needs to be updated, press the Reset button.
    Copy the security key from the "Hub Mesh token" section, located just above the lower-left of the Hub Mesh page of the sharing hub. If a security key has not been set or needs to be updated, press the "Reset" button at the lower left of the Hub Mesh token section.
  3. In the Active local hubs list, press the hub that has lock with the warning icon next to it and enter the key from the sharing hub.
    Paste the security key from the sharing hub into the text field of the hub you want to share devices with, and press the Save button below the text field.
  4. Once a valid key from the sharing hub has been entered, the warning icon will disappear and device synchronization will resume. If the warning icon does not disappear in the Active local hubs list, refresh your browser.
    If there is no warning icon to the right of the hub's IP address in the "Active local hubs" list found at the top-left of the Hub Mesh settings page, then the hub has a valid security key.

Adjusting Communication Protocol for Hub Mesh

  1. By default, Hub Mesh uses the UDP protocol for keeping devices in sync between your hubs, but UDP may not function properly with some mesh WiFi routers. If sync issues occur. you have the option to instead use the TCP protocol.
    • NOTE: Not all networks and mesh WiFi routers will have issues with UDP. Test your shared Hub Mesh devices before making adjustments.
The "communication protocol" section at the bottom-right of the Hub Mesh page has a drop-down menu for switching from the default UDP protocol, to TCP/IP. After changing the protocol, press the "Update" button at the bottom left of the communication protocol drop-down menu.

Full remote device sync

  1. When more than approximately 200 devices are shared in a Hub Mesh, there may be concern over the increased amount of network traffic and load on the source hub. You may therefore disable or extend the amount of time before a Full remote device sync is performed.
  2. You can also completely disable synchronization by selecting Never. An example of how this might be used is when controlling a light from the destination hub, but you are only concerned about status updates on the source hub. This setting will stop all shared device synchronization from the source hub.
    At the bottom-left of the Hub Mesh page, under the heading "Full remote device sync", you can increase the time before full device sync is performed. This addresses concerns over increased network traffic when more than approximately 200 devices are shared via Hub Mesh. The choices are, "Never", "Every 2 minutes" which is the default setting, "Every 5 minutes", or "Every hour". If you would like to completely disable Hub Mesh syncing, choose the option "Never". If you change the option, press the "Update" button at the bottom left. If you need devices to be in sync immediately after making the change, press the "Sync now" button to the right of the Update button