Hub Mesh v1
When two or more Hubitat Elevation® hubs run on the same local network, you can seamlessly share and use devices in automations between multiple hubs with Hubitat® Hub Mesh. Using a simple share and link setup, all participating Hubitat Elevation® hubs are able to effortlessly control and stay in sync with local devices and mode changes.
Configuring Hubitat® Hub Mesh
- From the Hubitat Web Interface select Devices and press the Hub Mesh button.
- NOTE: Hub Mesh is available starting from hub platform version 2.2.4.x and is only compatible with other Hubitat Elevation® hubs running 2.2.4.x or later.
- Using the Share local devices drop-down list, select the devices you want to share with other Hubitat Elevation® hubs and press the Add to mesh button.
- Devices that have been shared will appear in the Shared devices list. Selecting any of the device names in the list will take you directly to the settings page of that device.
- On another hub where you would like to Link to devices shared in the Hub Mesh, select them from the Link to remote devices drop-down list and press the Create Devices button. If your shared devices do not show up in the remote devices list, refresh your browser.
- Links from shared Hub Mesh devices will be created in the devices list of the hub linking to them. Multiple hubs can link to devices shared through Hub Mesh.
- NOTE: Device Preferences and Information changes will update on linked device after 1 minute, but they cannot be changed from the linked device.
- Linked devices that have already been created will be grayed out in remote devices list.
- You may also add a single device to Hub Mesh by simply turning on the Hub Mesh Enabled option in the settings of the device you wish to share with other Hubitat Elevation® hubs.
- NOTE: To link to the shared device, you will use the Link to remote devices drop-down list on the hub where you want the linked device to be available as described above in Step 4.
- To remove devices from Hub Mesh, select them from the Stop sharing local devices drop-down list and press the Remove from mesh button.
- Devices which were linked to other hubs will not be deleted when they are removed or unavailable to Hub Mesh, but will instead switch to a Disabled state. If you add them to the mesh again or the hub which was sharing them returns to Active status, the linked devices will be automatically re-enabled.
- NOTE: If you no longer want a Hub Mesh Linked Device in your device list, it must be manually removed.
You can set Hub Mesh to follow Mode changes of other hubs by using the Follow Modes option.
- IMPORTANT: If you have Mode Manager installed, you should uninstall it from hubs participating in Follow Modes. Using Mode Manager together with the Follow Modes feature could change a mode one way, and Mode Manger would change it another when trying to follow the other hub's mode. Possible conflicts, including a mismatch of defined modes on the participating hubs may result.
Using Hub Mesh with Hub Login Security
When Hub Login Security is enabled on the hub from where devices are shared, it is necessary to provide the linking hub with a security key. Failing to do this will result in linked devices that do not synchronize with the sharing hub.
- With Hub Login Security enabled, a lock icon will appear next to the Active local hubs list. This will show a warning when the security key from the sharing hub is not available to the linking hub.
- Copy the security key from the sharing hub. If one has not been set or it needs to be updated, press the Reset button.
- In the Active local hubs list, press the hub that has lock with the warning icon next to it and enter the key from the sharing hub.
- Once a valid key from the sharing hub has been entered, the warning icon will disappear and device synchronization will resume. If the warning icon does not disappear in the Active local hubs list, refresh your browser.